Category: Awards

Cadillac-Based TV Network NewsNet Wins National Award

NewsNet, America’s first 24/7 news headline diginet, was recognized last week for its exceptional news promotion efforts at this year’s national Broadcast Production Awards. The network, which is based in Cadillac but broadcasts over-the-air in more than 50 markets across the country, was awarded for the “Best Promotional Spot for News or Sports” for its… read more

Marconi Radio Awards Entries Window Closes May 31

Marconi Radio Award entries are currently being accepted until May 31. Each year, the Marconi Radio Awards give NAB member stations the opportunity to receive national recognition for overall excellence and performance in radio. Stations and on-air personalities may nominate themselves in the categories of “Station of the Year by Market Size,” “Station of the… read more

6 Public, 13 Commercial Stations Nominated in 43rd Annual Regional EMMY® Nominations

19 Michigan Television stations, both public and commercial, along with cable networks, ad agencies and production houses throughout the state have received nominations for this year’s National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences (NATAS)/Michigan 43rd Annual Regional EMMY® Awards. The nominations were announced May 19 on Facebook Live.  Award ceremonies will be held virtually on… read more

Michigan Radio, WDET, WCMU, WMUK, WOOD and WXYZ Win Regional Murrow Awards

The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) has announced the recipients of the 2021 Regional Edward R. Murrow Awards.  Six Michigan broadcasters won a total of 11 awards in Region 7, which is shared with Illinois, Indiana and Ohio.  Award recipients demonstrate the spirit of excellence that Murrow set as a standard for the profession… read more

Winners Announced in 2020 MAPME Broadcast Contest

The annual Michigan Associated Press Media Editors broadcast competition has announced their winners in the 2020 Michigan APME awards. In the broadcast category, General Excellence awards for 2020 went to WLNS-TV (Lansing); WDET-FM (Detroit) and WKAR-AM/FM (East Lansing). Michigan’s APME’s “Rising Star” broadcast award went to Angeline McCall of WXMI-TV (Grand Rapids). The Kalamazoo Gazette… read more

WDIV’s Larry Spruill Honored among Michigan Chronicle’s ’40 Under Forty’

On April 1, the Michigan Chronicle honored 40 professionals who inspired others through vision and leadership, exceptional achievements and community service participation.  WDIV-TV (Detroit) reporter Larry Spruill, was one of those recognized during the virtual ceremony. Spruill was nominated because of his extensive coverage during the George Floyd Protests in the summer of 2020 as… read more

WJBK’s Al Allen Among 7 to be Inducted into the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame

Seven outstanding journalists will be inducted into the 2021 class of the Michigan Journalism Hall of Fame. This year’s inductees have made major, sustained contributions in print, broadcast and online media to news, sports, business, automotive and cultural journalism. They include: Al Allen, a radio and TV reporter on the streets of Detroit for 50… read more

Cynthia Canty will Host Virtual BEA Week March 22-26

Find out if your station is a big winner in the 2020 Broadcast Excellence Awards contest as you watch the winning entries throughout our virtual awards week of March 22-26 at BEA Awards Week host Cynthia Canty will join you each day to help announce 2020’s Best and Merit winners in several groups of… read more

Murrow Award Winners Announced, 6 Michigan Stations Honored

The Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA) has announced the recipients of the 2020 RTDNA National and Regional  Edward R. Murrow Awards.  Six Michigan broadcasters were honored for their excellence this year.  Michigan Radio (Ann Arbor) received five awards, including one national award this year. The RTDNA has been honoring outstanding achievements in electronic journalism… read more

Radio Hall of Fame Goes Virtual October 29, Detroit’s Donnie Simpson Among 2020 Inductees

Induction ceremonies for the 2020 Radio Hall of Fame go virtual this year with host Elvis Duran hosting the two-hour program from New York City.  This year’s inductees include Donnie Simpson, who began his career in Detroit at age 15 at WJLB.  The complete list of inductees include: Mark & Brian – KLOS-FM, Longstanding Local/Regional… read more